Lab Members

Current lab members

Dr Simon Johnston

I did my PhD with Professor Laura Machesky on the Arp2/3 complex and the actin cytoskeleton, and was a post-doc with Professor Robin May working on host pathogen interactions of Cryptococcus. Now I am occasionally allowed in the lab to do microscopy.

Chris Donaldson

I'm a 3rd year PhD researcher, having joined the lab in 2017 after completing BSc Pharmacology and MSc Translational Neuroscience . My research, funded under an MRC DiMeN DTP studentship, is focused on developing therapies for cryptococcal meningitis. For this, I have developed and optimised zebrafish models for high-throughput drug screening. In addition, I have been researching how antifungals get in to the central nervous system, and how this can be modulated for improved disease outcomes.

When I'm not in the lab, I'm usually busy with my many, many plants, trying to build something or working on disability equality in academia.

Email Linkedin ResearchGate ORCID Twitter

Stella Christou

I finished my undergraduate degree at the University of Aberdeen with a BSc (Hons) in Microbiology in 2017.

Currently I am a third year PhD student supervised by Professor Kathryn Ayscough (BMS) and Dr Simon Johnston. My studentship is funded by BBSRC DTP White Rose. I work on elucidating the role of cell wall composition and hyphal switch during the host-pathogen interactions of a commensal fungal pathogen called Candida albicans.

Email Linkedin ResearchGate BBSRC DTP White Rose

Jacqui Chalakova

In 2018 I completed a Master’s degree in Translational neuroscience. During my masters project I was supervised by Prof. Marysia Placzek. I contributed to her work in understanding the genetics of early hypothalamic development in the chick embryo animal model. During my master's degree I found a passion for incorporating different scientific disciplines to understand neurological pathologies, which lead me to my choice of an interdisciplinary project for my PhD.

My PhD project works on the understanding of the mechanisms of raised intracranial pressure in cryptococcal meningitis. My focus is the pathophysiological processes arising from the biophysical properties of the pathogen. It appears that cryptococcal infections affects intracranial pressure in a very complex way, involving all the components of the cranium: brain, vasculature and CSF circulation. My project involves using a zebrafish infection model to mimic the mechanisms that cause this increase in pressure.

Email Linkedin

Arturo Landeros de la Isla (Sayers lab)

I studied my undergrad in biotechnology engineering at the National Polytechnic Institute in Mexico. After that I applied for a direct PhD at the IICD department of the Medical School. My work is focused on DNA replication inhibitor as potential antimicrobial agents against parasitic (Trypanosoma brucei and Leishmania infantum) and fungal organisms (Cryptococcus neoformans).

I really love my country and my culture and I will constantly speak about (specially food, which sometimes I cook if you want to give it a try).

Email Linkedin

Mahrukh Shameem

I joined the lab in 2019, as part of the DiMeN DTP. Having completed a MSc in Clinical microbiology and having worked in Dr Catherine Pashley’s Clinical mycology lab, I developed a strong interest in opportunistic infections in respiratory disorders. My project - in collaboration with AstraZeneca – aims to observe the effects of the IL-33/ST2 pathway in chronic respiratory diseases and infections. We will use an inter-disciplinary approach to explore this field.

Throughout this PhD I also hope to promote inclusivity within academia and STEM by representing women and the black and minority ethnic (BAME) community.

Email Linkedin

Previous lab members

Dr Jacob Rudman

Dr Jaime Cañedo

Matthew Smith

Mabel Johana Ortiz de Leo


Rebecca Quirke

Dr James Bradford

Dan Jones


Louise Richards

Dr Aleksandra Bojarczuk

Email Linkedin

Dr Katherine Pline

Email Twitter

Dr Harriet Knafler

Dr Hamid Fehri

Email Linkedin

Dr Josie Gibson

Email Linkedin Twitter

Dr Robbie Evans

Email Twitter

Dr Alfred Kamuyango

Linkedin ReserachGate